Until the Light Breaks

​My emotions are churning within my soul

Tugging on me like the tide on a beach
Each emotion is pulling me deeper into the ocean
I don’t know which way is up
As the waves pound down

While my legs are shaky
My trust is steady
As I climb onto the rock in this storm
I am going to fight,
I can’t lay down and die
Because there is too much life left inside

Even if the light doesn’t shine today
Even though the storm continues to rage
Throughout the night I cling to the rock
As I wait for the light to break

I have looked death in the face
And laughed at the angry faces he made
He pounded on wave, upon wave, upon wave
And I laughed again, and again, and again
Till he shrunk down and scurried away
Yet the storm continues to rage

Even if the light doesn’t shine today
Even though the storm continues to rage
Throughout the night I cling to the rock
As I wait for the light to break

Some days it hard to imagine
An end to the forver night
I crave the peace that’s rooted deep
Yet I just can’t seem to reach it

Through the anger of the storm I hear a calm whisper
Come my darling, come deeper, cling tighter
You bear my name, I’m not letting go
My darling, you hold the key in your hand
You bear my name,  I’m not letting go!
Do you really think this is the first sea I tamed?

Even if the light doesn’t shine today
Even though the storm continues to rage
Through the night I cling to the rock
As I wait for the light to break
I cling to the rock
As I wait for the light to break
I cling to–

And the light breaks….
And the light breaks…
And the light breaks.

Leave a Reply

