Fighting for My Dream

A dream is easy to have when things are going your way. It’s in the moments when nothing seems to be working out that we are faced with the question of, “How badly do I want this dream to come true?” We can say that it wasn’t what it was all cracked up to be, that we want a new dream instead. There’s nothing wrong with changing our minds, if that is what we really want. Or we can stick it out and fight for it.

For the first time, I have to fight for the life I want to have. I’m lucky because I had an easy upbringing; my parents loved me, I had everything a child needs to succeed and then some. But now, now that the protection of schooling is over I have to make a choice that will affect the rest of my life. It’s up to me to provide for myself; no more hand holding.
I have to fight for the life I want to life. I want to live out God’s will for my life, true, but that does not mean I can lounge around the house, surf the net and watch Netflix to my heat’s content as I “wait” for God to show up and tell me what to do. I have to leave the house and actively look for ways to achieve my dream, because it’s not going to show up on the latest Netflix show I’m watching. The only way to know what doors are open is to try and go through them, instead of waiting for a feeling to tell me what to do, because more often than not that “feeling” tells me, “Just one more episode. You can try that door later, after you get a snack.”
Adventuring Note: This was written at the end of this past summer when I began to doubt myself. I began to wonder if I had picked the right career or if it was simply a college pipe dream. About two weeks later, a door was opened in the industry I dared believe I could join, and I excitedly and nervously walked through it.
Leave a Reply

