Five Minute Friday: Lost

Getting lost doesn’t normally scare me. I’m the type of person who likes to get lost in the woods or city in order to better explore it; I like to loose track of time as I wander. However, when it comes to planing out my future, I don’t like the “lost” feeling that coming with it. I don’t like feeling helpless as I stare into the unknown. I am vulnerable and exposed when I don’t have a set plan for my future, and I don’t like it. I hate not knowing things, it makes me feel useless and ignorant.
Lately, I’ve been dealing with all of those emotions as I try and plan out my life. But the more I do that the more I realize I can’t because I don’t know what’s coming, I don’t know what exactly the future holds. It’s easy to let the feeling of being lost overwhelm me to the point where all I can do is sit in my house and stare listlessly at the walls, unsure of where to go, unsure of what I’m supposed to do, unsure if I am waiting on someone or if I need to make the first move.
It’s easy to get stuck there, it’s another thing to stand up and take back control of my emotions and feelings and thoughts and fears about the future. I don’t have to let the feeling of being lost control me anymore.

—-
Linking up with Lisa-Jo and the FMF writers again! We “free write” for five minutes about one topic without editing the post when we’re done. It’s a chance to let it out and learn from each other. 🙂 You can check out her blog, and other FMF posts, here. Enjoy!

One thought on “Five Minute Friday: Lost

  1. This is such a hard thing to try to get yourself out of. I know for me the only way was friends who finally saw how lost I was feeling and came along side me to help. Thank you for being open to let others know they aren’t alone in this feeling.

Leave a Reply

