The Impact of Friendships

You never know how long a friendship will last. What may seem as a “best friend for life” might turn out to be a “best friend for a year or two.” It’s never intentional, no one ever goes into a friendship with the thought “I want to be friends with this person for the next 5 years, and then I’ll move on,” yet it happens. It’s hard when friends move on before you, or awkward when you move on before them; I know it has been for me. You’re never quite sure how to act or what to say, even though you two were so close once upon a time.

However, I’ve come to the realization that people come into our lives when we need them and then leave when we’ve learned all we can from each other; and that’s okay. Interests change, lives head in unexpected directions, and people loose touch and the close friendship they once had. All of it is packaged into the messy bundle called ‘friendship.’ As long as we remember the impact they had on us, our lives will be changed forever.

I know I would not be who I am today if I did not have the childhood friends that I did. Do I talk to them all the time? No. Do I love them any less for it? No. We grow up, we move away, we find other people who can encourage us with the adventure we are currently facing, but we don’t forget the impact they had on us. I know I will never forget any of my childhood friends because their love and friendship helped make me into the woman I am today. You never know how long a friendship will last, but you never forget its impact when it’s over.

Leave a Reply

