Five Minute Friday: Hero

A hero is someone you look up to, admire and want to emulate. They come in all shapes and forms from everyday people to celebrities to superheroes. We all are attracted to heroes for different reasons. Maybe your hero came from a rough background and managed to escape from it, or maybe you hero faces moral dilemmas, or maybe you hero lives the life we want to live, or maybe your heroes are everyday people-like your parents. Some people make themselves the hero of their own lives, believing they can accomplish everything and anything they put their mind to.

There are risks with having a hero. They can fail you. They can let you down when you need them the most proving they are not as wonderful as we once thought. Having a hero is a dangerous thing because of the hurt it can cause us when we least expect it. We have learned to be careful who we put our hope and trust into because anyone could let us down.

There is one person who has yet to let me down in my life. He is always there to comfort me and protect me. I don’t always understand what my hero does or why He does it, but I do know that He has my best interests at heart. The beautiful thing is that I know He will never fail me, though I may fail and distrust Him many times over. He still loves me no matter what I do or where I am. He’s my superhero, and when I grow up I want to be just like Him.

Another Five Minute Friday post! We write whatever comes to mind and is on our hearts for 5-10 minutes with no editing. Check out Lisa-Jo’s page for other thoughts on the word ‘Hero.’

One thought on “Five Minute Friday: Hero

  1. you are so true with the risk that Heroes can fail you. God never fails! Isn’t that such an amazing love story!!

Leave a Reply

