Five Minute Friday: Visit

How many times a week do we take the time to visit with our friends? Far to often I find myself shut up in my room working on homework by myself instead of connecting with my friends. It takes more of an effort for me to go find my friends since I don’t go to the school’s cafeteria as often. I am learning how to be intentional and to go out of my way just to say ‘hi’ to someone I haven’t seen in a week.

But while I know I am cooped up in my room, I don’t feel alone or cut off from my friends. I just go online and see what they’re doing on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter. I still feel like I’m a part of their adventures by watching their live on a computer screen, but it’s not enough. Friendship requires visiting with people. It requires me to purposefully take time out of my day and look for my friends. Otherwise I’ll miss out on adventures and movies and late night talks. I don’t want to miss out on those things. Visiting with other people is important, even if I often overlooked it.

 

 

Five Minute Friday is when a group of us are given a prompt and write for about 5 minutes. We do not edit ourselves, but simply write the first thing that comes to mind. Go to Lisa-Jo’s blog to see what other people are writing about the word, ‘visit.’

2 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Visit

  1. Hey, Anna. College can be really isolating—and FYI grad school’s even worse if you decide to follow that path—but it’s also the best place to find the people you have the most in common with who end up being your closest friends. Keep up the adventures and the late-night talks and never lose sight of the importance of face-to-face talk. Blessings from a fellow FMF contributor. (P.S. Your parents did a great job choosing your name.)

  2. Thanks David! I really appreciate that! (P.S. I like my name too. 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

