Claiming Christ’s Authority

It seems like every day I learn more and more that it is one thing to have the head knowledge of a Christian, but it is another thing entirely to live it out day to day. This happened to me again this past December.

I was under a heavy spiritual attack about a month ago. It was nothing like I had ever experienced, and it scared me. I didn’t know what to do, how to pray or protect myself. I would put on the Armor of God, but I did not know how to step into the authority of being a Child of God. I was truly terrified and I didn’t know how to overcome my fear. With help from my parents and my grandma, I gradually began to understand what type of power I have as God’s daughter. I read Psalms 90 almost every day, and as I read it I was able to take the promises God makes and believe and accept them for myself. I began to understand how ready God is to protect me, and I needed to trust that He would protect me despite how I may feel on any given day.

But most importantly, I learned how to step into the authority I have as a Child of God. I’ve learned not to give the Devil an inch when I rebuke him. I learned that Jesus gave me the same authority that He has (Mark 16:17-18), and when I use it I don’t ask, beg or plead; I command in Jesus’ name for freedom and deliverance. I now know that I don’t have to wait on God to give me authority or permission to act in authority. It has already been given to me; I just had to accept it. Now that I have, the way I face the enemy and the world is going to be very different.

Leave a Reply

