Ordinary – Five Minute Friday…on a Sunday

Ordinary….ordinary…simples things we take them for granted every day. An ordinary day at work, an ordinary homework assignment, an ordinary dinner, and an ordinary night are all things we do every day without thinking about. We do them so often that we forget how to find the extraordinary in the ordinary. We forget how blessed we are to have a job, that we are given a chance to learn about the world through our homework assignment. We forget how blessed we are that food is on the table, and how beautiful the stars are at night.

I told my friend the other night how lucky I feel that I can stand in the middle of campus and look straight up and clearly see the stars. The only other place I could do that was in Africa where I could see the Milky Way. But here I am in Central Kentucky and though I can’t see the Milky Way, I can still lie in the grass and pick out constellations without lights from buildings drowning them out.

Children are the best at finding the extraordinary in the ordinary. They see the world for what it was meant to be: Beautiful, Wondrous, Adventurous, and Good. Grown-ups see the world for what they have come to know it as: Hard, Cruel, Unforgiving, and Sad. The more I grow older, the more I realize I am joining the “every day grind.” I have to fight to keep my innocence and to see the beauty in the ordinary. Once I loose sight of the extraordinary, everything becomes ordinary…. and life looses its wonder.

So my Five Minute Friday became a Fifteen Minute Sunday, but better late than never, right? Linking up with Lisa-Jo and the other wonderful Five Minute Friday ladies to ponder the word ‘Ordinary.’ Join us next week! It’s a lot of fun!!

2 thoughts on “Ordinary – Five Minute Friday…on a Sunday

  1. Love this part….. The more I grow older, the more I realize I am joining the “every day grind.” I have to fight to keep my innocence and to see the beauty in the ordinary. Once I loose sight of the extraordinary, everything becomes ordinary…. and life looses its wonder.
    Don’t we all? Lovely thoughts. Thank you!

  2. I am with you there. Sometimes it takes listening to my 7 year old give her take on a situation before my point of view changes. Children see things for what they are and always give the benefit of the doubt. I could learn a lot from my kids! 🙂

Leave a Reply

