Not My Plans

I’m at a time in my life where I am expected to have a plan for my future. I have already begun to brace myself for the same four questions that people will start asking me until I graduate from college.

    What will you do after you graduate?

    What do you want to do with your major?

    Where do you want to go? 

    Do you know what you want to do next?

While I do have a basic idea of what I want to do, my plans for getting there are already being foiled.

The things I think I need to do in order to prepare for life after college don’t work out. I haven’t even begun to learn the skills I want to achieve. What’s my five-year plan once May 2014 hits? I honestly don’t know. If I stand still and look out upon my life I realize there are several directions I could go right now, all of them different.

But I am learning one thing: my plans are not His plans.

I can do my best to prepare myself for what I think the future may hold, but it will probably be completely different from what I imagine.  I’m learning that sometimes that might be for the best.

So, I can lie awake at night and beat myself up over the fact that life is not going the way I planned, or realize His plans are bigger than mine, and a whole lot better.

Leave a Reply

